My Mistakes Were Made For You

July 18, 2008
Last shadow puppets

Last shadow puppets

My favorite bands and songs of the week are a mish-mash of rock, alternative and old fashioned “indie.”

If you were a shape, what shape would you be? Me and My Friend John by The fratellis off the album Here We Stand. It is a sexy guitar riff with some yelling, catchy vocals: perfect for any party this summer. The “ahhh..ahh..ahh..’s” will have you singing along like no other.

The Last Shadow Puppets, The Age Of Understatement. The song by the same name as the album is a favourite along with the song My Mistakes Were Made For You. The songs have a subtle nostalgia to them as they remind me of a sound I have heard in a past life. The sound haunts you and takes over your your senses: back to another time, another life. Perfection.

Lets Stay Friends” is easier said than done. Les Savy Fav make it sound effortless with their album by the same name. My favourite songs off the album are What Would Wolves Do and Kiss Kiss Is Getting Old. The latter offering a very interesting sound I would best describe as a full-pouted yet vacant voice in the verses, meet American rock (dare I say, Foo Fighters) in the chorus.

New York is offering Bishop Allen’s Folk yet upbeat sound of Rain. Think of it as the male version of Tegan and Sarah, yeah – that good. You’ll fall in love, I promise.

And of course, Bitches In Tokyo by the Stars. I really didn’t like this song the first couple of times I heard it. May be because my friend is in Tokyo modelling and hating the actual bitches in Tokyo. It grows on you. The Stars know what they’re doing with this song. Hopefully the radio won’t ruin it like it does everything else.. the way advertising does.

My favourite of the week must be Edu K– if bjork, Bonde De Role and Shinjuku Zulu had an audio baby, it would be Me Bota Pra Dancar. Spicy, loud, exotic, and with bass to knock you on to the dance floor. Its the kind of beauty you only see from the rarest of mixes. Best track of the week.

Other tracks worth checking out this week:

  1. Heaven (pink skulls mix) by Health
  2. I love To Move In Here (Crookers Bass Mix) Moby
  3. Blackout by The Whip
  4. Hang Them All by Tapes ‘N Tapes
  5. Not Now But Soon by Imogen Heap
  6. Not A Love Song by Uh Huh Her
  7. Gamma Ray by Beck
  8. Alone Again (Van She Tech) by Teenager
  9. The Geeks Were Right by The Faint
  10. Gobbledigook by Sigur Ros
Leave a Reply

