Exciting News and Big Moves

October 5, 2010

What are you thankful for this week leading up to Thanksgiving?

I’m thankful for a lot — as there are a lot of big moves and changes in the world of smichm… so I figure I’ll fill you in with one blog post!

New Career

I will be starting a new career with Strategic Objectives, a Toronto PR agency, next week. I am very excited to join their amazing team and to work on some challenging projects with some of the world’s leading consumer and lifestyle brands. It will be a learning curve, but I am up for the challenge and know I will have a wonderful support system within the agency.

This will be a change from my corporate life in the technology world and I will miss the team at SoftCom who have grown to be a bit like family. Needless to say, I’m continuing to be a huge SoftCom evangelist even after I leave.

Virgin Contest

I would like to thank everyone who voted, tweeted and put up with my incessant calls-to-action for voting over the past two months. Also, a huge thank you to everyone who made it out on saturday for Nuit Blanche and the final Virgin America campaign. However, will no longer be able to fulfill the virgin duties with all the changes a foot and so, I have pulled out of the race. Best of luck to the other two contestants.

South By South West 2011

I realized the other day that while I tweeted the news about this, I neglected to write a post about it: Naked Dating made it to SXSWI 2011 and I look forward to another year at SXSW in Austin Texas with one of my most favourite guys in the word, Jeremy Wright.

Personal Move

On the very personal side of my life, I have moved in with my long-term partner in crime and as of October first, now live with him <3

Photo Cred: Notable

Also, I am contemplating a huge revamp of my personal branding online and would love for you to weigh in on what you would love to see more and/or less of, so please leave your comments and feedback below!

8 Responses to “Exciting News and Big Moves”

  1. Aaron Kaufman Says:

    Hey SmichM,

    Mazel Tov :-) on all the great news! Your a great reminder of what a positive attitude and hard work can achieve.

    Now that your in the business of PR, i’m hoping maybe we can have a coffee once your settled in and discuss doing some work together!

    Keep me posted on what your up to and congrats again!

    -AK

  2. Dave Says:

    Wow that’s a lot all at once! Congrats! :)

  3. rohanjayasekera Says:

    Hey, didn’t I hear about all of this on Twitter already? :) Congrats again!

    What don’t you like about how you currently do your personal branding? Let us know and we can give you more targeted feedback.

  4. vicky weiss Says:

    Thats so exciting. Wishing you all the very best as you embark on this new journey.


  5. thanks guys!!

    Rohan — maybe that should be a new blog post then? lol

  6. Dave Fleet Says:

    Great news, Melissa – congrats! Deb is lucky to have you.

  7. Chris Says:

    Congrats and good luck! I think you’ll enjoy agency life ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

